Finding balance in motherhood

It wasn’t until I was in my mid 20s and started practicing yoga that I understood the need for a balanced life. I think many of us struggle to find balance in life. And sometimes we find it for a period and then it gets lost again. When I first started teaching, it was finding the balance between worrying about work and enjoying my free time. When I got married it was finding the balance between making a home with Jim, enjoying time with friends and family, and continuing to grow professionally. I have learned that in each new phase I need to work on finding my balance. I found that yoga helped a lot as it would remind me to be still and appreciate the moment.

Now, as a new mom, balance is even more of a challenge. For me, time and energy are the biggest challenges. And every new mom’s challenge is different. We see posts all the time about the mommy wars. That is not what this post is about, but simply about me learning through myself and others how to balance life as a parent. Because I am working full time, I find that time and energy are my biggest struggles. That doesn’t mean that another working mom or stay at home mom feels the same.

And so here I am working on making decisions and finding a routine that works for our new normal as parents. I constantly say to myself “One day at a time”. But that in itself is a challenge because of course I want to know what is going to happen next. My personality is one that questions things constantly. But what is amazing is that I don’t ever doubt or question Owen being in our lives.

Recently I was talking to a friend about being a mom. I said that I feel like I am now complete. My purpose right now in life is to be Owen’s mom. Owen has helped me find the balance I need and want. The beautiful thing about life is that we are constantly learning and growing and seeking as individuals and as a community.

And so as I continue to learn and seek what brings me balance as a mom, I look forward to the challenges that will come with it. Because that means I am living and loving and breathing. And that is all the balance I need.

2015/02/img_0963.png

One thought on “Finding balance in motherhood

Leave a Reply

