The Feeling of Hope

My mom does a great job at reminding me to stay present. But with all the hard and sad things in the world, sometimes the last thing I want to do is be present.

Today as I was thinking and praying for people in Baltimore and Nepal, I started thinking about hope. A friend from college that I admire as a writer, and also happens to be named Megan, stated it beautifully on social media. She said we NEED optimism and hope in our lives. She also connected the hope and optimism to her adorable little boy. And I can so relate. Because when I see Owen, he radiates those two things.

But how do I focus on hope and the future and stay present in the midst of sorrow and hurt?

I think for me it means getting excited about the future regularly. And I can feel that excitement in the present. It also means trusting the hope that I feel. Trusting that there will be brighter moments. Because undoubtedly there will be.

And simply just being with my feelings and thoughts. My mind pings thoughts all over the place. But when I remind myself to slow down and breathe I become present. And even though in that present I might be sick or people may be hurt I can still choose hope.

Love accompanies hope. And with love I do believe all things are possible. MLK Jr. said it best “Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that”.

So as I continue to pray for peace in Baltimore and in my own heart , I think of the words light and love. And those words make me feel incredibly hopeful.

2015/04/img_0342.jpg

Leave a Reply

