Blogging Writer’s Block…or Fear?

I was worried this was going to happen. And I am not even that far into this journey in the blogging world. The dreaded writer’s block has taken ahold of my brain. What is interesting is that I have a lot of ideas still swirling around right now. But I cannot seem to find a purpose for them in a post.

One of my favorite parts of blogging is the freedom and liberating feeling that comes from publishing a post I am proud of submitting. It is true and cheap therapy. But more importantly, I want it to resonate with people too. I want someone to read my post and think “Me too!”. I love when I read blogs or books and get that feeling. So of course I want to instill that feeling in others.

I have decided that I am probably trying too hard right now. I am trying to become TOO relatable. I am doing my typical routine of trying to please everyone. The last 10 months of my life of being a new mom have caused and encouraged me to be vulnerable. Even though it has been beyond challenging, I am thriving. I love being vulnerable because it is the most authentic I have ever felt.

But like I have said before, being vulnerable is really scary. Because whether or not we like to talk about it, it is human nature to judge. I do it too. I am of course not proud of it, but we all do it.  So sometimes I worry how people will judge this new and vulnerable me in the blogging world and in the “real” world. Being judged is hard. Because for me, it brings up my insecurities and doubt. It brings up pain.

Maybe it is not so much writer’s block that I am experiencing, but fear. When I first started this post, I did not even realize that is where this was headed. See, I told you, free therapy!

I am going to work on embracing my fear. Even typing that sentence is hard. If I embrace this fear, it makes me look deeper into myself about why the fear is in me in the first place.

So as I continue to reflect, I hope you will continue to read. Because I appreciate you reading more than you know.

—Meagan

PS-If you are a blogger, I would love some advice on how to connect more to readers

PSS- this is the before pic of my new writing desk. Can’t wait to show the after pic with it decorated! 🙂

2015/05/img_3372.png

11 thoughts on “Blogging Writer’s Block…or Fear?

  1. I can completely relate! I just hate when I have what feels like hundreds of thoughts whipping around my head, yet I can’t compose anything into a post which I’d be proud of. Sometimes I start writing a post and then I start feeling like I’m getting confused and it sounds jumbled up, so I save it as a draft and go and do something else for a while. Then I’ll probably erase half of it when I come back, but I do get some sort of coherent post!
    However, I have also learnt that sometimes you just need to let whatever is on your mind come out and flow. Maybe it’s not a funny, happy story, maybe it’s about something serious or something that’s going on in your life, but I know I want my blog to be 100% real, and life is a roller coaster! Sometimes I’ll get scared to post something and then I get loads of support and wonderful feedback and it’s definitely therapeutic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Annie you are so right! One of my favorite words is authentic. I want my blog to be just that. And if that means all the jumbled thoughts in a post so be it! Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  2. I totally relate to this post- see, even in things like this, others can still say “me too!” I’m sure lots of people are having this problem right now too, so even you talking about this is still inspiring others! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been there. It happens about 2-3 months for me. Sometimes I just take a step back from blogging and come back refreshed. Most of the time I do realize that it’s because I stopped letting myself just write, and was worry about how everyone would perceive it. Good luck journeying through this! I love that desk too. Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think all bloggers experience this. Personally I believe it’s best to treat your blog like you would a relationship. Take things slow, but stay true to yourself. I feel a little pinch of fear whenever I hit publish, but it gets easier as time goes on. Keep at it, keep growing.

    Best of luck to you!

    Like

  5. We all go through the dreaded writers block… Where none of your ideas seem to work or make sense. I find if you just write something it seems to help… Even if that something isn’t what you end up publishing! Just get your mind working. Also adorable desk!

    Like

Leave a Reply

